Have a think about your group of friends and colleagues right now. When was the last time you ate together and what did they order? Chances are they had to avoid some food or beverages. Maybe it was a soy latte, perhaps a gluten free sandwich, or maybe a vegetarian salad. We’re sure you can think of someone.
In fact, 1 in 5 Australians currently live with a food intolerance or allergy, which means the possibility of you having to cater for one or more special dietary requirements is almost a certainty. Furthermore, there’s a wide variety of voluntary diets that have risen to fame in recent times. These aren’t always due to a food intolerance or allergy, but can restrict a similar if not greater range of foods.
At Order-In, almost 50% of our corporate catering orders provide for special dietary needs. In fact, food allergies and intolerances are becoming increasingly prevalent and can pose a serious health risk. It's important to be aware of any special dietary restrictions and requirement of your guests when ordering office or events catering.
There are many reasons for dietary constraints and they differ from person to person. Some of the more common ones include:
As corporate catering experts, we provide literally thousands of breakfasts, morning teas, working lunches and events catering across a vast array of cuisines and special diet concerns. In order to help you with your office catering endeavours, we’ve put together this comprehensive special diet guide so that you can learn more about the most commonplace intolerances and allergies, and what foods or ingredients cause them. We’ll also offer some helpful tips and meal ideas to ensure everyone has plenty to enjoy.
In Australia, the two most common food intolerances are gluten and lactose.
Important note: The information on this blog post is for informational and educational purposes only. It is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment in any manner. If you think you are suffering from any medical condition or have any specific questions about any medical matter, you should consult your doctor or other professional healthcare provider. Before starting and/or make any diet changes, you should speak to a doctor or other qualified health provider.
Gluten is a combination of proteins that’s most commonly found in wheat, barley, rye, and their familial grains. It commonly adds elasticity and a chewy texture to bread and wheat products, as well as aiding the rising process in baking.
Breads, cakes, cookies and pastries all contain gluten.
Flour contains gluten, which means any products that use the ingredient also contain gluten. Eating breads, cakes, pastries and a vast majority of baked goods are all a no no. While there are of course a range of gluten free products available, if they’re not labelled, it’s a better idea to avoid them.
There are easy substitutes however, with gluten free versions of all regular flour products available. Nut flours like almond or hazelnut are used for sweeter options like friands and small cakes, while a variety of other flours, seeds and grains are used in gluten free breads.
Texturally, gluten free cakes or breads are more dense than their regular counterparts. Bread is particularly different as it doesn’t rise as much as normal bread, which often results in a small, compact loaf.
Pasta is another major gluten heavy food. However, just like bread, there is a range of suitable gluten free options that make the most of other grains and substitutes like corn, or rice flour.
Regular store-bought pasta tastes almost identical to regular pasta, with only slight variation to the flavour depending on the primary flour used. Fresh pasta however tastes quite a bit different and many purist Italian restaurants aren’t likely to cater for it.
Many noodles, including ramen, soba, hokkien and udon are made using wheat in combination with other primary ingredients like eggs. Rice noodles on the other hand contain no gluten and can be used as a substitute in a wide variety of dishes. 100% buckwheat noodles can also be used.
Couscous is another side dish that needs to be avoided if you’re catering for gluten free people. While often used as a rice replacement in Moroccan cuisine, it’s more commonly found mixed in with salads like tabbouleh. Corn is the most common gluten free replacement for couscous. It tastes different, but works in all the same dishes and tastes great.
As you’d expect, many cereals contain wheat and a variety of grains and seeds which all contain gluten. Furthermore, many cereals, like Cornflakes for example, are manufactured in a way that introduces wheat into what would have initially been a gluten friendly product. Therefore, even if the primary ingredients seem obvious from the name on the box, it’s not always safe to eat. Numerous gluten free versions of popular cereals exist, as well as a range of specially made cereals, muesli, and granola.
Imitation meat isn’t regularly found in corporate catering menus, but is a protein substitute for vegetarian diets. In order to thicken the vegetables and solidify the pattie, wheat is used as a binding agent along with ingredients like tofu.
Sorry beer lovers! While the vast majority of alcoholic drinks are gluten free, as the distilling process removes the harmful proteins, beer retains them. However, the amount of gluten depends on the style of beer, and many people with an intolerance can digest lagers, pale ales and pilsner style beers without risk. Coeliacs (also spelt celiacs) though will need to steer clear. There are gluten free beers available, including the O’Brien brewery which is 100% gluten free.
Soy sauce is another tricky one. Found in an enormous variety of Asian cuisines, soy sauce does contain wheat and can be harmful depending on your level of tolerance. Like beer, many people with an intolerance can consume regular soy sauce in a meal without triggering a negative response. Gluten free soy sauce is easily found in a supermarket and is a pantry must for if you’re an Asian cuisine fan!
Non-coeliacs will often have a certain tolerance to gluten that their bodies can digest before it causes stomach issues. This can vary greatly from person to person, but it’s also a cumulative total, so consuming multiple foods or beverages that contain low levels of gluten will add together to create a greater amount of it in your system. If you’re planning corporate catering, then the level of tolerance will be an unknown to you and it is always recommended to order from a gluten free menu just to be on the safe side.
As someone that’s responsible for organising food for a group of people, it’s really important to understand the difference between someone who is gluten intolerant, and someone that is coeliac.
An intolerance, often referred to as non-coeliac gluten sensitivity, is when the body has difficulty digesting gluten. Eating gluten foods causes gastrointestinal issues which often include bloating, stomach cramps, diarrhoea and vomiting. Many people describe the reaction as one akin to food poisoning, where the body goes into overdrive trying to get rid of the substance from your stomach in whatever way it can. While there’s no “cure” for gluten sensitivity, a change in diet is often all that’s required to avoid the symptoms. Medication is currently being developed however, that aims to aid the body with digestion meaning that someone with a gluten intolerance will be able to consume products containing gluten without side effect provided they swallow the tablet first.
There is no clinical test for a gluten intolerance, instead a diet change experiment is the primary way of identifying any issues. This usually involves avoiding gluten for a period of 2 weeks and monitoring any change or reduction in symptoms.
Coeliac (or celiac) disease on the other hand is an autoimmune condition where the proteins in gluten attack the lining of the stomach and other intestinal tissue, particularly the villi. Villi are the tiny finger like tissue that lines the intestine and is primarily responsible for nutrient absorption. Unlike gluten sensitivity, there is no tolerance to gluten and consumption can result in serious side effects.
Source: US National Library of Medicine
If a coeliac digests gluten, they’ll encounter many of the issues cited above, including bloating, stomach pain and cramping and diarrhoea. Furthermore, they can include insomnia, rashes, mouth ulcers and many coeliacs experience difficulty concentrating. These symptoms can last for days. While this may not sound too terrible to some, the primary difference is that every exposure to gluten creates long term damage to the intestinal tissue that can’t be repaired. Gluten intolerant people do not suffer any long term effects.
A blood test can be done to determine coeliac (celiac) disease.
Dairy is any product that’s produced with the help of our slow-moving, grass-eating friends, cows. Cow’s milk is used for cheese, yoghurt, cream, milk, and of course any products created with those products. Just like with gluten, there is both an allergy and an intolerance to dairy products. An allergy to dairy products is an autoimmune response and can be fatal, while an intolerance is gastrointestinal reaction to the enzyme, lactose.
What’s the difference between a dairy allergy and lactose intolerance?
People that have an allergy to dairy have an autoimmune reaction to one or more of the following proteins found in dairy products: whey, casein, and albumin. As with most allergic reactions, the symptoms are immediate and fast moving. Symptoms of a dairy allergy include bloating, vomiting and diarrhoea, but can also result in eczema (dry skin), and respiratory issues. Muscle pain, headaches, and joint stiffness are also common effects of an allergic reaction.
If someone you’re catering for has a dairy allergy it’s critical you understand what you need to do in the event of a reaction. As respiratory issues can arise, the potential for a life-threatening reaction like anaphylaxis exists. Treating this reaction via an epinephrine injection (often known as an epipen) is not uncommon and at least somebody present must know how to administer it if required.
Somebody with an allergy to dairy must be incredibly strict with their diet and not consume it in any form or quantity.
Another common reaction to dairy products is a lactose intolerance. Lactose is a sugar present in cow and other animal milks. Lactase is an enzyme that breaks down and digests lactose in your body. An intolerance occurs when there isn’t enough lactase present in the body to properly digest the lactose from those beverages and foods. Symptoms of an intolerance are similar to that of gluten and commonly include bloating, diarrhoea, vomiting, stomach cramps, and other gastrointestinal issues.
Unlike gluten, avoiding dairy is a lot more straightforward. Any product that contains milk products is a no-go. Cheeses, yoghurts, milk, ice cream, chocolate and creams like thickened or sour. There are a few tricky products that contain dairy though.
Milk proteins are used in the fining process of making wine and therefore can be cause for an allergic reaction. While wine does contain lactose in that protein, many people can handle small volumes of wine. There are dairy free wines available, along with certain craft beers like stouts that may also contain milk proteins and lactose. If you’re scanning for brands that offer dairy free versions, you may have better luck searching for vegan products.
Some canned tunas have the caseinate protein present and may trigger an allergy. If you’re serving a salad or sandwiches that include canned tuna, it’s important to read the ingredients thoroughly to ensure it’s safe.
Many instant mix products like gravies, sauces, sweeteners or artificial creamers contain milk powders that are used as a thickening agent.
Lactose free products are cow's milk products that have had the lactase enzyme added in order to circumvent the effects of lactose. If you have a dairy allergy or are serving food to someone who is, lactose free products are absolutely not suitable. Anyone suffering from a lactose intolerance can consume these products however.
Contrary to what some believe, other animal milk like that from a sheep or goat does contain just as much lactose as that of cow’s milk.
While potato doesn’t contain any milk products, the flavourings used often have milk products added. Always check the packets, but many varieties are dairy free and OK to it.
Soy provides the vast majority of milk alternatives, however in order to achieve textural similarity to products like cheese, milk proteins are sometimes used. Imitation meat also contains milk proteins. While soy products should be fine for anyone with a lactose intolerance, dairy allergy sufferers should avoid them.
A vegetarian is someone who doesn’t eat meat but will eat foods made from animals. The moral reasoning is that it’s OK to consume foods from an animal that don’t result in the slaughter or mistreatment of that animal. Due to this reasoning, vegetarians will also generally consume only animal products that have been sourced ethically.
There are approximately 2.1 million adult vegetarians in Australia as of 2016. This means that the likelihood of catering for one or more is a near certainty. Unlike the allergies and intolerances mentioned thus far, a vegetarian diet is more a preference and a voluntary dietary restriction of certain foods.
Many vegetarians choose to eat fish, which is common enough to have created its own name - pescetarian. While there’s not usually a clinical or food allergy related reason for this, it’s essentially where you draw the line morally or purely a preference to avoid some meat and not others.
Unlike a vegetarian diet, vegans will not consume any animal products, including meats and products derived from animals. While vegetarians choose to avoid meat often due to the treatment of the animals, vegans continue that line of thought but are against the animals being bred and placed in a captive environment for the sole purpose of exploiting their lifestyle for the creation of food. Due to its moral reasoning, veganism is a diet preference, not an allergy or food intolerance to these products. However, a vegan diet can be a good option for someone with a dairy allergy as it is very safe to consume vegan friendly foods.
Avoiding meat products are an easy solution, however ensuring that an entire meal is vegan friendly can be more complex as there are many animal products used in the manufacture of foods and beverages that you perhaps wouldn’t expect. Milk products for example are often used in binding and flavouring agents used in things like potato chips and some soy products. Scroll up to the dairy allergy section for a list of foods that include milk products.
As a significant amount of processed foods contain milk or animal products in some way, whole foods are often the best solution for someone sticking to a vegan diet. This ensures that there aren’t any hidden ingredients in the foods you’re trying to enjoy.
While you may just be catering for a single meal or single day for someone following a vegan diet, it’s worth mentioning the effort and planning required to ensure that your body receives all the nutrients it requires that are usually found in animal products. Supplements are therefore often required for things like B12 that are only found in animal products, and iron. Protein can also be an issue for some, but there are plenty of animal free alternatives that provide ample quantity.
When catering for vegans, it’s important that your options be classed as vegan and that the ingredients are clearly specified as to avoid these processed foods and your clients or colleagues disappointment!
Sometimes referred to as the ‘cave-man diet’, paleo is a diet preference, not a diet based on food allergy or intolerance. and revolves around the consumption of high fat and protein and moderate carbohydrates. The moniker comes from following a diet that the cavemen would’ve consumed, being unprocessed foods that can be harvested or hunted.
A paleo diet excludes all cereal grains and legumes. Barley, wheat, oats and kidney and pinto beans are a few examples from Paleo Leap of the foods that are avoided. Soy is also avoided.
Avoiding the majority of processed foods is the key here. Confectionary like lollies that have significant amounts of sugar and preservatives are a no go. This includes a wide variety of not just sweets, but fruit juices and a significant percentage of packaged products will likely be avoided.
Dairy is a no-go as well. We’ve covered dairy extensively above, but as paleo is a choice, it’s up to the individual as to where they draw the line on the exclusion of dairy. Given that processed foods, which make up a substantial volume of junk foods, are excluded you’ll just need to cut out cheeses, yoghurts and animal milks as well.
In a similar way to veganism, a paleo diet can leave gaps in nutrition needed for your body, particularly with the absence of dairy products. Calcium and vitamin D deficiencies are a strong possibility and supplements are likely a necessity for someone following a strict paleo diet. High consumption of saturated fats and protein can also cause issues with the heart and kidneys.
A low FODMAP diet is based on a study from Dr Susan Shepherd and expanded on by the Monash University that details the effects of diets on people that suffer from gastrointestinal issues like irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).
FODMAP is an acronym for the short chain carbohydrates and sugar alcohols that appear in foods, either naturally or as an additive. It stands for:
These sugars ferment in the large bowel and can cause irritation to people suffering from bowel problems. These sugars include:
What is incredibly interesting about a low FODMAP diet is the correlation between lactose and gluten sensitivity. As FODMAPs appear in both wheat products and products containing lactose, it may explain the reaction many people have to these foods as well as some reasoning behind the increase in reported intolerances.
A low FODMAP diet is very specific about the foods you can eat, and there can be differences between varieties of the same fruit and the quantity that would provoke a negative reaction. As these foods affect everyone differently, a person would need to follow a FODMAP diet exactly for a period of 2 weeks or more and then begin to introduce certain foods one at a time to measure the effect on their body.
Due to this, it can be difficult to cater for someone following a strict individual FODMAP diet. For this reason, many people will instead give a preference of gluten and dairy free that will provide the highest possibility of being safe for them to it.
In order to simplify the FODMAP system, the Monash University introduced a traffic light system and mobile application so that you could easily identify problem foods. The systems works like this:
Tree nut and peanut allergies are very common and can cause serious problems for many sufferers. Like with the other allergies we’ve mentioned, nut allergies occur when the body believes that you’ve ingested something you shouldn’t have, so it attempts to rid itself of that something as quickly as possible.
Symptoms range from skin irritation like rashes, a cotton or itchy feeling in the throat and swollen eyes, all the way up to anaphylaxis.
Peanut allergies have similar symptoms to tree nuts, but can also include a drop in blood pressure, eczema, abdominal pain and in severe cases, cardiac arrest and anaphylaxis.
Unlike some other allergies we’ve mentioned on this list, nut allergies can be transmitted through the air as well as by digestion, making living with this allergy all the more difficult. If you have a team member that has a nut allergy, it’s critical that every precaution be taken.
Being allergic to seafood is common in adults. People with a seafood allergy are usually allergic to either fish or shellfish. That means that if you’re allergic to one, it doesn’t always mean you need to avoid all types of seafood. If you’re unsure, we recommend you speak with your doctor.
Most commonly discovered in adulthood, a fish allergy is due to either a protein or a gelatin present in fish. The most common types of fish that cause these allergies are tuna, salmon, bass, cod and flounder, but it can vary greatly depending on the individual. You can test your reactions to fish with the help of an allergist to learn which finned fish to avoid.
Symptoms include skin rashes, gastrointestinal distress, nasal issues and anaphylaxis in serious cases. It’s important to note that an allergy to fish does not mean you have an allergy to shellfish.
Shellfish come in two categories: crustacea like prawns and lobsters, and mollusks like mussels and oysters. Symptoms include:
Many people that suffer from shellfish allergies will carry an epinephrine injector (EpiPen) that needs to be used should the above symptoms arise.
Like nut allergies, shellfish allergies can be triggered through the air and by touch, so extra careful attention is required if one of your colleagues has this allergy. It’s recommended that you avoid shellfish entirely when ordering your catering.
The ketogenic (or keto diet) is a very low-carb, high-fat diet, focusing on lowering the amount of carbohydrate intake and replacing it with fats. People often implement the keto diet for health or weight loss reasons, and it is often used for medical treatment of those with diabetes.
It may sound like it would be hard to cater for, but it can be made quite simple. Things like seafood, red meat, seeds and nuts, low-carb veggies and eggs are all keto friendly. To us, that sounds like a delicious smorgasbord!
Some other delicious meal ideas are:
Use our infographic to stay aware of what the 8 most common food allergies are.
Now that we’ve covered all the main diets that you’re likely to encounter on a semi-regular basis, we’ve developed this easy checklist to go through before ordering catering for your office.
Relax, we've got your back! Here are some of the ways we help you accommodate special diets the next time you need to order office catering for a working lunch or event.
Give us a call on 1300 851 900 — one of the first questions we'll ask is if any of your guests have special dietary requirements. It's important you take the time to enquire about their needs and understand their dietary restrictions so we can provide a tasty solution that meets their needs. We'll be happy to suggest alternative catering menus or individual food selections that are suitable for their needs.
Order online — all of our corporate catering menus are marked with special diet icons to indicate if they are gluten free, dairy free, vegan, halal or vegetarian. You'll quickly be able to see which options suit your needs. Just visit our website on www.orderin.com.au and view our extensive range of catering menus and make your choice. If you've got a question about any of our menus, feel free to call us or use the live chat feature on the website to speak to one of our corporate catering experts.
Specialised menus — we can even create specialised menus in line with your business requirement. Your menu will be available each time you order with preselected special dietary options. It will save you valuable time and give you the assurance that your guests' needs are met every time.
Catering for special dietary requirements and restrictions is essential, but we're here to make it simple. Relax and book your next office catering with us. You can trust the special dietary needs of your guests are in the best of hands with Order-In.
Download and print our special dietary and allergy checklist to give to staff to ensure you don't forget to order special dietary catering!
Ensuring your colleagues and clients have delicious food that’s catered to their needs provides enormous benefit to your business. Food unites people and enjoying a meal that’s wholesome, freshly prepared and beautifully presented will surely create or solidify your professional relationship. Leaving someone hungry however is the exact opposite.
Make sure everyone has something to eat by checking their special dietary requirements and then using this guide, and our talented team of corporate catering foodies for recommendations and tips, to make sure your next meeting, office lunch, or corporate event is full of delicious food for everyone. For more information or recommendations for catering for special diets, speak to one of our corporate catering experts on 1300 851 900.